Not A Pink Girl

Book review: Jane and the Unpleasantness at Scargrave Manor: Being the First Jane Austen Mystery by Stephanie Barron | May 3, 2009

Jane and the Unpleasantness at Scargrave Manor: Being the First Jane Austen Mystery Jane and the Unpleasantness at Scargrave Manor: Being the First Jane Austen Mystery by Stephanie Barron

My review

rating: 2 of 5 stars
I would give this 2 1/2 stars I think. It was a slog. I adore Jane Austen. This book was fun & interesting because Jane Austen was the protagonist. I found the way Ms. Barron wrote the book to be distracting (too many “of a sudden”s & “I was all astonishment”s). I thought it was neat that she was trying to use colloquialisms of Jane Austen’s day, but sometimes I found this device to be self-conscious. This is Ms. Barron’s first book in the “Jane Austen” series, so perhaps things smooth out with the succeeding novels. It just didn’t catch my interest. I had to force myself to sit down & read a chapter or two at a sitting.

View all my reviews.

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

